Testing my Beliefs, Ottawa, ON

Hey everyone,

Yesterday was a sad addition to all the other amazing days since being on the this trip. After spending the morning and after noon visiting the PA buildings and the Museum of Civilization I was shocked to find that my bicycle along with everything I own was missing. Lying on the ground next to the spot I had left it was my cut lock.

I have been living on my bicycle traveling across across the country for just about two and a half months. Words cannot describe how I felt walking out of that museum to find the lock laying on the ground.

Here is a letter for the person who stole it:

Dear Thief,

Yesterday afternoon you stole the only material possessions that I had in my life. You took my wheels right out from under me along with my house and all my necessities to get across Canada. 

So that you know what it  was that you took I will explain a little bit better.

When I walked out of that museum and saw that my bicycle was no where to be found I very quickly knew what had happened because you tossed the lock on the ground after you cut it. But when I looked at the spot where my bike was no longer sitting all I saw was that you took a very special photograph from me.

When I was fourteen my sister passed away from cancer and before she died she picked out a photo that captured a happy moment between the two of us. She took this photo and wrote on the back To Cody, Love Nicole. This photo is the only thing I take with me where ever I go in the world and every time  I run my fingers over that writing I am reminded of what it was like to be in that moment. When I looked and saw that this photo was no where to be found, that it had been stolen, the only feeling I felt was fear. I feared that I would never have that feeling again and that there would never be a photo to capture such a moment with Nicole again in my lifetime. 

So thank you. You took away the last material thing in my life that I had any true emotional connection to and made me realize that it was not needed to feel my sisters spirit. I no longer need that photo and you showed me that. With all of the organizing and planning that has happened since the moment my bike was stolen the whole time I have felt my sisters strong presence in me more than ever and it’s because it is now associated with the life I live and not that photo. 

I understand times can get tough and money gets tight, I have faced both of these things on this trek and now more than ever am I faced with those two realities. I know that sometimes when we are in these situations it is hard to crawl out and get back on your feet but just know that the answer is in truth and positivity. Stay true to what you believe in and just have a positive outlook for all the experiences you encounter and things will eventually work out. I wish that you have the ability to grow and learn from this experience and that hopefully in the future you will not find your self in such desperate times. May good things find you and help you live a meaningful life.

Sincerly,

Coady Lee

I just did an interview with a CBC TV reporter and I look forward to the good things that will come from that. Ottawa is still an amazing place and even with this happening it still does not shadow all of the great people I have met and the wonderful things I have done since being here. The story will air in Halifax and Ottawa tonight and then you can find it on their website.

I cannot get my photos to upload to the site, so please check them all out on my Facebook!

Cheers,

Coady Lee

24 comments on “Testing my Beliefs, Ottawa, ON

  1. Chris L. says:

    I’m so sorry this happened to you Coady. I’ve been robbed myself, so I can relate to how you feel. I hope you get that special photo of your sister back. Every cloud has a silver lining and I am hoping that this sad event may ultimately have a positive side to it, good luck to you and take care, Chris L., Ottawa.

  2. denise purcell says:

    that is terrible coady,and nichole is with you ,on this journey,good luck to you,and be safe,thinking of you.denise purcell.xo god bless you.

  3. Stacey Cronin says:

    Hi Coady,

    I just saw your story on the CBC Ottawa evening news and I’ve shared your story with my twitter followers and facebook friends in the hope that something good can come of this. What is the best way to reach you for those that want to help?

    Stacey

  4. Claude says:

    I am sorry you lost your bike in Ottawa – I also got mine stolen last weekend. You can try the house of bicycle located at the end of Laurier street – keep walking east on Laurier from the Museum and go to the end (1 km) There they loan for free bikes for the day. (they are the stolen bikes that are unclaimed). I uderstand they have many more than what is on display – may be you can ask them for a bike and possibly accessories?

    Good luck – you will succeed.

    Claude

  5. Kevin says:

    Just saw your story on CBC, I have a 6 year old men’s Nakamura 21 speed mountain bike that you can have. It’s in good shape but the front derailleur cable is seized (probably just needs oil) so it is stuck in gears 14-21 which isn’t too bad but everything else works.

    Email if you would like it.

  6. Jeff says:

    Coady I must say I am sorry this happened to you please don’t let it dampen your thoughts of Ottawa.
    I have a bike you may be able to use. I no longer use it and it would be my pleasure to be able to help you.
    Please contact me at corbin.ja@gmail.com if you are interested.

    Cheers
    Jeff

  7. Jeff says:

    Coady I must say I am sorry this happened to you please don’t let it dampen your thoughts of Ottawa.
    I have a bike you may be able to use. I no longer use it and it would be my pleasure to be able to help you.
    Please contact me at corbin.ja@gmail.com if you are interested.

    Cheers
    Jeff

  8. harroco says:

    I have a bike that you can have. It needs air in the tires but I think it’s in good shape.

  9. Christine Lachance says:

    Coady,
    I’m happy for you, to hear in your voice that Nicole is ALWAYS with you, and that one person’s actions has not spoiled your outlook. I’m “picking up what [you're] putting down…” and at this time, I would like to do what I can to pick YOU up, as you re-set your path. Please answer through my e-mail address. We want to help get you back on your wheeled horse.

    Christine

  10. Bob. says:

    Hi, Very sad to hear this news, pitiful act of thievery. I’m a volunteer at
    a group who recycle bicycles and put the back on the road.
    We could get you a good reliable bike with pannier racks etc.
    and get you back home. Get in touch with me if you have not already
    found one.

    Cheers, Bob.

    • yaoldtrout says:

      Hi Bob, what is the shop you are connected with. I am currently searching for a steel frame touring bike and am available to search around tomorrow morning with you.

  11. VA3QV says:

    Coady….

    I have a small tent and a sleeping bag/sleeping pad you can have if you need it…

    613-600-8488 bob

  12. Lacey says:

    Cody you are one amazing person, and I have so much respect for everything you are doing, and how positive you are staying. You inspire a lot of people by doing this, keep staying strong, and doing what your doing – and you will be back home in no time :) the people that love you tons are here waiting for you – and karma will get that f**king bastard who did this to you! believe it! :)

  13. Beth says:

    Wow Coady. Always remember that the shitty things in life always seem to happen to those who can handle and overcome it. Your sister’s strength have been passed along to you in all different ways. You’ll make it through and finish your wonderful journey.

  14. Jason says:

    HI Coady, I’m sorry about this crappy situation and am inspired by your adventures across Canada. Please post a list of stuff you need to continue your journey and I’m sure the community, including myself, will do whatever we can to get you on your way again.

  15. Yourgogirl says:

    Hi Coady-
    Something very similar happened to a man who became a very good friend of mine – Bob Viens. In 2008 his bike was stolen in Amherst, Nova Scotia after he had cycled from Brattleboro, Vermont. Everything he had left in this world was on that bike, including his lucky cornflake. Here’s a link: http://www.vpr.net/news_detail/81125/interview-bob-viens-bobs-lucky-adventure-corn-flak/
    YOU NEED TO STOP AT A NATIONAL BANK AND SET UP AN ACCOUNT FOR YOURSELF SO PEOPLE CAN DEPOSIT MONEY FOR YOU. I’d send some as I’m sure many others would.
    And know that you’ve got a place to stay if you make it all the way down to Yarmouth, Nova Scotia.
    Bob went on to many more incredible and wonderful adventures. He’s still having them as a result of having his bike stolen.
    The moral of the story is – it may not seem like it at the time, but sometimes events like these happen for a reason that makes what follows even more appreciated. Your sister had a hand in it from above. Best of luck.
    Yourgogirl

  16. cathy lee says:

    wow, there are so many amazing and caring people out there

  17. cynthia says:

    I dont have much money but i can donate a little to help get a new bike

  18. victoria says:

    What do you need?
    Victoria rainy.blue@hotmail.com

  19. jenny gee says:

    Hi Coady,

    Yes, please post a list of things you need to get yourself back on the road – I’m sure we can all help get you outfitted and homeward bound.

    I agree – you have Nicole always with you and her strength surrounds you. Our loved ones do that. Their memories keep us strong.

    All the best,
    Jen

  20. Jason and Julie, Pembroke says:

    Coady,

    I just heard part of your interview on the CBC. Very inspiring. Julie and I were very pleased to meet you when you passed through Pembroke last week. Best wishes with the rest of your journey. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need anything.

    Cheers,

    Jason

Leave a Reply

